Présentation

En utilisant le langage inhérent à la peinture, Eva est capable de simplifier son travail pour créer des pièces audacieuses et confiantes qui capturent l'essence de lieux spécifiques, ou d'événements naturels avec une grande atmosphère et une qualité submersive.

Eva Ullrich est une artiste paysagiste dont le travail s'oriente davantage vers l'abstraction. La plupart de ses peintures ont été créées après des voyages en Norvège septentrionale et en Islande, où elle a exploré la côte et s'est rendue dans les régions intérieures reculées, explorant les champs de lave, les glaciers et les volcans. Tout en explorant le paysage, elle a pris des photos et esquissé de rapides croquis de peinture sur place pour observer les caractéristiques particulières du paysage et les qualités souvent dramatiques et changeantes de la lumière à différents moments de la journée. Elle réalise ensuite ses peintures de mémoire à son retour au studio.

 

Elle les peint à plat à l'aide de larges pinceaux, d'éponges et de raclettes, en ajoutant, en retirant et en manipulant constamment la peinture jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit bien appliquée. Certaines peintures sont très simples, composées de seulement deux couches, et d'autres sont beaucoup plus complexes avec plusieurs couches et des glacis.

Œuvres
Biographie

Eva Ullrich est née en 1987 dans le Lake District (Royaume-Uni) et a étudié la peinture à la Glasgow School of Art où elle a passé beaucoup de temps à explorer le paysage écossais. Cette expérience du paysage a toujours été un point de départ pour son travail. Elle vit et travaille aujourd'hui à Bristol et continue d'exposer à l'échelle internationale.

SOLO & GROUP SHOWS

2020
AAF Battersea, London
AAF Brussels
Tatha Gallery, Scotland

2019
Seattle Art Fair
Market Art+Design
Royal Geographical Society, London
The Crossover Candid Arts Trust, London
Bristol Contemporary Art
AAF Brussels
AAF Battersea, London
AAF Hampstead
AAF Singapore

2018
AAF Hampstead
AAF Battersea London
AAF Brussels

2017
RWA 165th Annual Open Exhibition, Bristol
"The Five Virtues", SWG3, Glasgow
Bristol Contemporary Art
AAF Battersea London Spring
AAF Brussels

2016
Galerie 22, Bristol
RWA, 164th annual exhibition, Bristol

2015

Scope BaselArt Southampton


2014
The Scottish Royal Academy, Edinburg

2012
The Scottish Royal Academy, Edinburg
Grizedale, Cumbria

COLLECTIONS

Landlines, The Wilderness Art collective, Royal Geographical Society, London
The Auction collective, Summer auction, Candid Arts trust, London
RWA 165th Annual Open Exhibition, Bristol
“Open dialogues”, The Royal Scottish Academy, Edinburgh
RSA New contemporaries 2012, The Royal Scottish Academy, Edinburgh

Overview

Using the intrinsic language of paint, Eva is able to simplify her work to create bold, confident pieces that capture the essence of specific places, or natural events with great atmosphere and a submersive quality.

Eva Ullrich is a landscape artist whose work leans more towards abstraction. Most of her paintings were created after trips to Arctic Norway and Iceland, where she explored the coast and travelled into the remote interior, exploring lava fields, glaciers and volcanos. Whilst exploring the landscape, she took photographs and made quick paint sketches on location as methods of observing particular features in the landscape and the often dramatic and changing qualities of light at different times of day. She then makes her paintings from memory upon her return to the studio.

 

She paints them flat using wide brushes, sponges and squeegees, constantly adding, removing and manipulating the paint until it feels right. Some paintings are very simple, made up of only two layers, and others are much more complex with multiple layers and glazing.

Works
Biography

Eva Ullrich was born in 1987 in the Lake District (UK) and studied painting at the Glasgow School of Art where she spent a great deal of time exploring the Scottish landscape. This experience of landscape has always been a starting point for her work. She now lives and works in Bristol and continues to exhibit internationally.

SOLO & GROUP SHOWS

2020
AAF Battersea, London
AAF Brussels
Tatha Gallery, Scotland

2019
Seattle Art Fair
Market Art+Design
Royal Geographical Society, London
The Crossover Candid Arts Trust, London
Bristol Contemporary Art
AAF Brussels
AAF Battersea, London
AAF Hampstead
AAF Singapore

2018
AAF Hampstead
AAF Battersea London
AAF Brussels

2017
RWA 165th Annual Open Exhibition, Bristol
"The Five Virtues", SWG3, Glasgow
Bristol Contemporary Art
AAF Battersea London Spring
AAF Brussels

2016
Galerie 22, Bristol
RWA, 164th annual exhibition, Bristol

2015

Scope BaselArt Southampton


2014
The Scottish Royal Academy, Edinburg

2012
The Scottish Royal Academy, Edinburg
Grizedale, Cumbria

COLLECTIONS

Landlines, The Wilderness Art collective, Royal Geographical Society, London
The Auction collective, Summer auction, Candid Arts trust, London
RWA 165th Annual Open Exhibition, Bristol
“Open dialogues”, The Royal Scottish Academy, Edinburgh
RSA New contemporaries 2012, The Royal Scottish Academy, Edinburgh