Présentation

Le travail de Park est entièrement basé sur la couleur et la transparence. Simple et fondamental, il est inspiré des principaux concepts de l'art occidental des 40 dernières années.

Le travail de Park est entièrement basé sur la couleur et la transparence. Simple et fondamental, il est inspiré des principaux concepts de l'art occidental des 40 dernières années. Ses œuvres sont fondées sur le concept selon lequel la créativité est produite à partir de la croyance et de la confiance. Park pense que la mission d'un artiste est de créer un être transcendant invisible, célébrant le pouvoir de l'existence, tout en recréant le minimalisme et la simplicité. Sa recherche de la transparence se manifeste non seulement dans le choix des matériaux - acrylique et verre - mais aussi dans l'expression des trois couleurs primitives. Les traces produites par les combinaisons de couleurs donnent un sentiment industriel bien que naturel. Le matériau utilisé pour créer cette transparence est imperméable, contrairement au papier ou à la toile. Son travail est une conversation plutôt qu'une illusion, car il nous permet de voir au-delà de la surface. "Je vois bien moi-même que plusieurs couches de couleurs et de formes se superposent dans le cadre de ma vie. Je suis composé de cette manière".

 

Bien que visuellement minimale, l'oeuvre finale est fortement conceptuelle ; Park explore un sens plus profond de soi tout en honorant une puissance supérieure - comme le suggèrent nombreux de ses titres. Byung-Hoon s'inspire de formes géométriques. Au cours de son travail, Park peut se concentrer entièrement sur la façon dont les couleurs sont fusionnées entre elles, créant de nouveaux motifs et de nouvelles couleurs une fois mélangées. Les œuvres de l'artiste peuvent paraître différentes selon l'angle sous lequel elles sont vues, l'heure de la journée ou l'éclairage. Le spectateur est invité à entrer en dialogue, à voir ce qu'il veut voir.

Œuvres
Expositions
Biographie

Park Byung-Hoon est né en Corée en 1967. Il vit et travaille à Paris depuis 1992. Il est diplômé de l'université de la ville d'Inchon en Corée du Sud et de l'école d'art de Versailles. Depuis, il a exposé dans le monde entier, de Munich à Miami et de New York à Monaco.

SOLO & GROUP SHOWS

2018

Art Miami Jankossen gallery
Scope Miami K+Y gallery
AAF Hong Kong

Art mkt Hamptons
Art central Hong-Kong
London art fair

Jankossen contemporary gallery, NYC

K+Y Gallery, Paris

2017

Scope Miami
AAF Hong Kong

Art Southampton
Art central Hong-Kong

‘asian reflections’, Jankossen contemporary gallery, NYC

K+Y Gallery, Paris

 

2016-2015

Scope Basel

Art Southampton
Art Paris art fair

 

2014

Art fair kiaf, Seoul

Art Southampton

Art Hamptons

Scope Basel

Art Wynwood Miami

Art Palmbeach Miami

 

2013

Art fair spectrum, Miami

Art fair 21 koln, Germany

Gallery Alexandre Mottier, Geneve

Shangri-la hotel, Hong Kong

 

2012

Art fair karlsruhe, Germany

Paris art fair

Art Monaco

 

2011

Gallery an der pinakothek der modern, Munchen

Lee gallery, Berlin

Art fair karlsruhe, Germany

2010

Gallery courant d'art, Mulhouse, France

Scope Basel, Switzerland

AAF Paris

2009

Gallery Alexandre Mottier, Geneve

Art fair de Lisboa, Portugal

2008

Gallery an der pinakothek der modern, Munchenstart art fair, Strasbourg

2007
Moa gallery, Seoul

Overview

Park's work is based completely on color and transparency. It is simple and fundamental, which have been the main concepts of Western art for the past 40 years.

Park Byung-Hoon's work is based completely on color and transparency. It is simple and fundamental, which have been the main concepts of Western art for the past 40 years. His works are based on the concept that creativity is produced from belief and confidence. Park believes that an artist's mission is to create an invisible transcendent being, celebrating the power of existence, while recreating minimalism and simplicity. His pursuit of transparence shows, not only in the choice of material - acrylic and glass - but also in the expression of the three primitive color tones. The traces produced by the color combinations produce an industrial although natural feeling. The material used to create this transparence is impermeable, unlike paper or canvas. His work is a conversation rather than an illusion as we are allowed to look beyond the surface. "I can see myself that several layers of colour and shape overlap in the framework of my life. I'm composed in this manner."

 

While visually minimal, the final work is heavily conceptual ; Park explores a deeper sense of self while honoring a higher power – as many titles of his work suggest. Byung-Hoon draws inspiration from geometric forms and shapes. During his process, Park is able to focus entirely on how colors are merged within each other, creating new patterns and colors once they are blended during the process. The artist's works can appear different depending on the angle in which they’re being viewed, the time of day or the lighting. The viewer is invited into a dialogue : to see what you want to see.

Works
Exhibitions
Biography

Park Byung-Hoon was born in Korea in 1967. He lives and works in Paris since 1992. He has graduated from both the Inchon City University of South Korea and the Versailles Art School, and since then has been exhibited internationally, from Munich to Miami and New York to Monaco.

SOLO & GROUP SHOWS

2018

Art Miami Jankossen gallery
Scope Miami K+Y gallery
AAF Hong Kong

Art mkt Hamptons
Art central Hong-Kong
London art fair

Jankossen contemporary gallery, NYC

K+Y Gallery, Paris

2017

Scope Miami
AAF Hong Kong

Art Southampton
Art central Hong-Kong

‘asian reflections’, Jankossen contemporary gallery, NYC

K+Y Gallery, Paris

 

2016-2015

Scope Basel

Art Southampton
Art Paris art fair

 

2014

Art fair kiaf, Seoul

Art Southampton

Art Hamptons

Scope Basel

Art Wynwood Miami

Art Palmbeach Miami

 

2013

Art fair spectrum, Miami

Art fair 21 koln, Germany

Gallery Alexandre Mottier, Geneve

Shangri-la hotel, Hong Kong

 

2012

Art fair karlsruhe, Germany

Paris art fair

Art Monaco

 

2011

Gallery an der pinakothek der modern, Munchen

Lee gallery, Berlin

Art fair karlsruhe, Germany

2010

Gallery courant d'art, Mulhouse, France

Scope Basel, Switzerland

AAF Paris

2009

Gallery Alexandre Mottier, Geneve

Art fair de Lisboa, Portugal

2008

Gallery an der pinakothek der modern, Munchenstart art fair, Strasbourg

2007
Moa gallery, Seoul