Présentation

La photographie lenticulaire de Cécile Plaisance s'inscrit dans son époque et dans le mouvement mondial des droits des femmes.

S'inspirant des grands maîtres de la photographie - Avedon, Lindbergh, Newton ou Toscani, entre autres - Cécile Plaisance utilise l'impression lenticulaire pour permettre au spectateur d'habiller ou de déshabiller les modèles, vraies femmes, barbies, beautés idéalisées qui sont partout autour de nous. Mais cette fois-ci, les modèles, qu'ils soient humains ou poupées, ont une manière de regarder sans détour dans la caméra, comme pour réclamer leur droit à afficher leurs charmes, à séduire, à faire plaisir... c'est-à-dire à vivre de manière hédoniste, indépendamment de la religion, du regard masculin ou des frontières culturelles. Un hommage ludique à toutes les femmes avec l'humour de Cécile : c'est un constat !

 

Au fur et à mesure que la photographie de Cécile progressait, elle a lié Barbie aux femmes d'aujourd'hui - tout en jouant avec sa féminité, car l'icône a pris de nombreuses vies tout en jonglant avec son quotidien d'épouse, de mère, d'amie et d'amante. Elle faisait ce que toutes les femmes font et en profitait pleinement : elle flirtait dans sa décapotable, était sexy à la plage, était puissante en tant que cadre de sa propre entreprise, autonome, sans âge et, à la fin, seule comme peuvent l'être les belles femmes dans la vie, elle n'était plus une épouse de Stepford. Cécile a également ajouté de l'humour au mélange Barbie en ciblant les hommes qui attendent absolument du sex-appeal chez leur femme, même en assumant des responsabilités quotidiennes.

 

 

Au-delà du mythe de la femme comme objet, l'artiste élève l'idole de notre enfance collective en soutenant les défis des femmes d'aujourd'hui pour défendre leurs droits, leurs désirs et leur liberté durement acquise. Le manteau de la nonne et la burka d'une femme voilée suggèrent que derrière le personnage extérieur d'une femme, se cache une autre. Des subtilités complexes aux déclarations audacieuses, l'œil artistique de Cécile Plaisance les a toutes trouvées. Malgré les différences de cultures, de vêtements et de mode, et la diversité des chemins empruntés, les femmes aspirent à vivre pleinement et intensément leur vie aux multiples facettes et aucun taliban ne pourra jamais changer cela. En capturant l'essence de toutes les femmes dans le corps parfait d'une seule, l'artiste a créé un genre qui lui est propre tout en étant accessible à tous. Elle utilise la technique de la photographie lenticulaire par des images superposées : Barbie semble se déshabiller en fonction de la position de chacun devant la photo.

 

Et si Dieu était une femme ? "Fuck the rules" est sa dernière série de photos qui ignore les préceptes établis et propose plutôt une perspective ouverte dans laquelle hommes et femmes s'accompagnent religieusement, comme des âmes complémentaires. Loin des codes momifiés de la religion, Cécile Plaisance nous invite à une liberté des sens subtile et sensuelle, où la femme est vue comme une femme pape, maîtresse exclusive de ses propres décisions.

Œuvres
Expositions
Evénements
Catalogues
Biographie

Ayant travaillé pendant des années dans un environnement très masculin, Cécile Plaisance a quitté le monde de la finance et de la banque il y a quelques années et a décidé de s'installer à Bruxelles. Elle est alors devenue photographe à plein temps et son travail a été exposé dans les plus prestigieuses foires internationales d'art à travers le monde. Elle a récemment présenté une exposition personnelle de 58 pièces au musée Erarta, à Saint-Pétersbourg, de janvier à juin 2019.

SOLO SHOW / GROUP SHOW

2019

AAF Hong Kong
Art Market San Franscico
AAF New York
Mia Photo Fair
AAF Brussels
AAF Battersea London
Wynwood Art Fair
Art Palm Spring
LA Art Show
Art Innsbruck
Maison & Object Paris
Art Palm Beach
Musée Erarta, St Petersbourg, Russie


2018
Art Context Miami
AAF Hamburg
8ème Avenue Paris
AAF Battersea, New York, Hong Kong
Art Market Hamptons
SM'ART Aix en Provence
Art Context New York
Antibes Art Fair
Kunstrai Amsterdam
MIA Photo Art fair Milan 
Lille Art Up 
LA Art show 

2017
Art Market Hamptons
Context New York
Art Central Hong Kong
Los Angeles Art Show

2016

Art Central Hong Kong
Art Wynwood, Miami
Art Hamptons
Art Southamptons
Context Art, New York
Los Angeles Art Show
Rotterdam Contemporary Art Fair
Scope Art, Miami
Rarity Gallery, Mykonos
Dock Gallery, Rotterdam

2015
Art Miami,
Art Toronto,
Beirut Art fair,
Art Dubai,
Art Hamptons,
Brussels & Chelsea, Voglesang Greenwhich, Samuel Owen gallery

2014
Beirut Art
Art Dubai,
London art
Hong Kong,
Paris, K+Y
Brussels & Los Angeles, Art Angels
Saint Tropez, PetitJean Galerie
Opera Gallery Gallery
Chelsea, Voglesang

2013
London art fair, Envie d’art Artistry, Artemiss Gallery, Singapore Art Hamptons, Envie d’art

2012
Ski series, United Gallery Gent
Tribute to Newton, Artemiss Gallery, Singapore Beach series, Knokke,Young Gallery

2011
Jeune fille, Contraste, Brussels

2010
Chantiers, Contraste, Brussels

2009
Autoportraits, Contraste, Brussels

COLLECTIONS

Nicole Sassaman (Barbie penthouse), Pritzker collection (Los Angeles),Wekerle (Toronto), King of Morocco collection, Jo Malone collection, Handler family (Mattel), Collection Meeschaert (Paris),Mimran group collection, collection of Mr & Mrs Latsis, Accor group, Vick Vanlian collection (Beirut),

Erarta museum: acquisition of 2 pieces.

 

PUBLICATIONS

 

Barbie Penthouse, Nicole Sassaman, 2015 
100 barbie dolls, barbie book, 2015 Cecile Plaisance, Peel Photographie, 2015 
Cecile Plaisance, Amused, May 2014
Art & Fashion Mag, March 2014 
ELLE Belgique, October 2013 
ELLE France, September 2013 
La dolce vita, 2013
Barby Arty, Blended, 2013

 

CHARITY AUCTIONS

2011, Brussels 
2013, Hong Kong

Overview

Cécile Plaisance’s lenticular photography is inscribed in her time and the Global Women’s Rights movement.

Drawing her inspiration from the grand masters of photography – Avedon, Lindbergh, Newton or Toscani, amongst others – Cécile Plaisance uses lenticular printing to allow the viewer to dress or undress the models, real women, barbies, idealized beauties that are everywhere around us. This time though, the models, whether human or doll, have an unapologetic way of looking right into the camera, as a way of reclaiming their right to display their charms, to seduce, to pleasure… in other words to live hedonistically, regardless of religion, the male gaze or cultural boundaries. A fun tribute to all women with Cécile’s humour: it’s a statement!

 

As Cécile’s photography progressed, she linked Barbie to the women of today - all the while playing with her femininity, as the icon took on many lives while juggling her daily life as wife, mother, friend and lover. She was doing what all women do and thoroughly enjoying it: flirty in her convertible; sexy on the beach; powerful as executive of her own company, autonomous, ageless, and in the end - alone as beautiful women can be in life - a Stepford wife no longer. Cécile also added humor to the Barbie mix by targeting men who absolutely expect sexiness in their women even while assuming everyday responsibilities.

Over and above the myth of woman as object, the artist elevates the idol of our collective childhood by supporting the challenges of women today to defend their rights, their desires and their hard-fought freedom. The nun’s cloak and the burka of a veiled woman now suggests that behind one woman’s outer persona, is another one hiding. From complex subtleties to bold statements, Cécile Plaisance’s artistic eye has found them all. Despite the differences in cultures, in clothes and fashion, and the diversity of paths taken, women aspire to live fully and intensely their multi-faceted lives and no Taliban will ever change that. In capturing the essence of all women in the perfect body of one, the artist has created a genre uniquely her own yet accessible to all. She uses the technique of lenticular photography by super imposing images : Barbie appears to undress depending on one’s position in front of the photo.

 

What if God were a woman? “Fuck the rules” is her latest series of photos that ignores established precepts and, instead, delivers an open perspective in which men and women accompany one another religiously, like complementary souls. Far from the mummifying codes of religion, Cécile Plaisance invites us into a subtle and sensual freedom of the senses, where a woman is seen as a female pope, the exclusive mistress of her own decisions.

Works
Exhibitions
Events
Publications
Biography

Having worked in a very male-dominated environment for years, Cécile Plaisance left the world of finance and banking several years ago and decided to settle in Brussels. She then became a full-time photographer and her work was exhibited at the most prestigious international art fairs around the world. She recently had a solo show of 58 pieces at the Erarta museum, St Petersburg, from January to June 2019.

SOLO SHOW / GROUP SHOW

2019

AAF Hong Kong
Art Market San Franscico
AAF New York
Mia Photo Fair
AAF Brussels
AAF Battersea London
Wynwood Art Fair
Art Palm Spring
LA Art Show
Art Innsbruck
Maison & Object Paris
Art Palm Beach
Musée Erarta, St Petersbourg, Russie


2018
Art Context Miami
AAF Hamburg
8ème Avenue Paris
AAF Battersea, New York, Hong Kong
Art Market Hamptons
SM'ART Aix en Provence
Art Context New York
Antibes Art Fair
Kunstrai Amsterdam
MIA Photo Art fair Milan 
Lille Art Up 
LA Art show 

2017
Art Market Hamptons
Context New York
Art Central Hong Kong
Los Angeles Art Show

2016

Art Central Hong Kong
Art Wynwood, Miami
Art Hamptons
Art Southamptons
Context Art, New York
Los Angeles Art Show
Rotterdam Contemporary Art Fair
Scope Art, Miami
Rarity Gallery, Mykonos
Dock Gallery, Rotterdam

2015
Art Miami,
Art Toronto,
Beirut Art fair,
Art Dubai,
Art Hamptons,
Brussels & Chelsea, Voglesang Greenwhich, Samuel Owen gallery

2014
Beirut Art
Art Dubai,
London art
Hong Kong,
Paris, K+Y
Brussels & Los Angeles, Art Angels
Saint Tropez, PetitJean Galerie
Opera Gallery Gallery
Chelsea, Voglesang

2013
London art fair, Envie d’art Artistry, Artemiss Gallery, Singapore Art Hamptons, Envie d’art

2012
Ski series, United Gallery Gent
Tribute to Newton, Artemiss Gallery, Singapore Beach series, Knokke,Young Gallery

2011
Jeune fille, Contraste, Brussels

2010
Chantiers, Contraste, Brussels

2009
Autoportraits, Contraste, Brussels

COLLECTIONS

Nicole Sassaman (Barbie penthouse), Pritzker collection (Los Angeles),Wekerle (Toronto), King of Morocco collection, Jo Malone collection, Handler family (Mattel), Collection Meeschaert (Paris),Mimran group collection, collection of Mr & Mrs Latsis, Accor group, Vick Vanlian collection (Beirut),

Erarta museum: acquisition of 2 pieces.

 

PUBLICATIONS

 

Barbie Penthouse, Nicole Sassaman, 2015 
100 barbie dolls, barbie book, 2015 Cecile Plaisance, Peel Photographie, 2015 
Cecile Plaisance, Amused, May 2014
Art & Fashion Mag, March 2014 
ELLE Belgique, October 2013 
ELLE France, September 2013 
La dolce vita, 2013
Barby Arty, Blended, 2013

 

CHARITY AUCTIONS

2011, Brussels 
2013, Hong Kong